レッスン 案内 イベント 楽譜 オンラインコース レビュー よくある質問 連絡先


日本語で

9/12/2020
After finding my son's electric guitar and amp in a closet, long unused, I decided maybe this 60 something could learn to play it. After searching on line and seeing the great reviews on Yelp, I trepidly contacted Brian to see if he took in older students. He has a complimentary one hour consultation which I did and from that decided to give it a go for a few months. This was almost two years ago! Brian is an excellent teacher. He is passionate about guitar playing and teaching. He started out teaching mechanics as in chords and scales and gradually incorporated music theory into each lesson. Since about the fourth lesson, I was shown songs that I could play along with simple chord progressions or pentatonics. I appreciate his patience and flexibility with my travel schedule and family obligations. This year with COVID, I have been able to take lessons using Skype. I'm impressed by his professionalism--he keeps detailed notes on my progression, sends reminders for lessons as well as notes and a tape of the lesson afterwards. I would easily recommend Brian for anyone interested in learning guitar or improving their guitar skills, regardless of age!


2020年4月1日
I have been playing guitar for over 10 years (self taught/YouTube videos type of learning). I would say I'm a a fairly competent guitar player, but I've been having the hardest time getting to the next level of guitar playing for the past few years so I decided to take my first guitar lesson. 初回の1時間レッスンで衝撃と感動!続きを学びたくて次のレッスンが待ちきれないです。ブライアン先生は直感的に教え方がうまく、(ビギナーの私にとっては理解しづらい)複雑な音楽理論やコンセプトを分かりやすいカテゴリーに分けて教えてくれています。以前に何ヶ月もかかった内容がこの1時間で理解できたんです。Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND to anyone looking to learn, whether you're just starting or someone like me, just trying better my musicality and understanding guitar playing!!!


3/1/2020
The only guitar instructor you want.
Don't ask questions, just sign up.
Great with kids, even difficult ones like me.


2019年12月21日
Brian is an awesome teacher! I had learned a bunch of stuff on the internet, but I came to a point where my progress had seemed to come to a stop. The internet has a lot of useful information, however nothing beats having a real instructor.

I Found Brian online (pretty sure it was Yelp) and I'm glad I did. Brian is very friendly and helpful. ブライアン先生に出会う前、僕は他のオンラインレッスンを受けていたのですが、結局しっかりと理解できなく挫折。ブライアンの教え方は分かりやすく、すぐに実践できるので、素晴らしいです。また、バラエティ豊かなギター練習方法を伝授してくれるので、確実に上達しています。 He is very professional and kept organized notes of what we covered and what we were still working on. Brian is also pretty flexible with scheduling and was able to accommodate changes to my lesson times if I had other things come up. (Keep in mind, I did give him a reasonable amount of notice.) Definitely recommend Brian to anyone who wants to learn guitar or improve their current guitar skills!


2019年8月9日
17歳の娘(今は18)に付き添い、初めてのギターレッスンを受けに行ったその日から、彼女はブライアン先生とのびのびと学んでいました。ブライアン先生の高い指導力、そしてギター技術と音楽知識をじっくりと真剣に教えてくれるプロ意識、本当にクールな先生です。彼のおかげで娘もギターがどんどん上達し、今でもレッスン時間の全てを楽しんでいます。

After each lesson he sends her the information they covered in the lesson and he sends reminders for your upcoming lesson. I highly recommend Brian to anyone wishing to learn to play the guitar or to improve their skill.


1/16/2019
Brian has taken both of my kids from absolute beginner to understanding basic music theory. They both really enjoy his classes. I also appreciate that he records the lessons so they can go back and review as needed.


12/11/2018
Brian is both a gigging musician and a gifted instructor. He distills theory into clear and understandable lessons. Highly intuitive, he knows just when to say what to ease learning. Brian offers videos of each lesson which you can review at home for practice and recall. Kudos to the best guitar and bass mentor on Oahu!


10/25/2018
Legit great guitar teacher! My 14 yr. old has been with him for several months and LOVES it! He's having fun and learning a lot of technical thing that I don't understand. He is very knowledgeable. As a mom I appreciate his dependability, he sends weekly texts to remind me of the upcoming lesson and he let's me know in advance when he'll be on vacation or unavailable (not that it's often).


9/16/2018
I think the world of Brian. He is very intelligent, takes his role as a music teacher very seriously, is extremely organized giving structured lessons, and is very knowledgeable. Lessons with Brian have been quite a bargain for me. He's taught me so much related to how chords are assembled and has given me an incredible leap forward understanding how music notes and chords fit together and can progress.


4/8/2018
Learning to play the guitar was one of the top things on my bucket list. When I finally decided to take the plunge, I found BRGA on Yelp. Based on all of the great reviews (and they are ALL spot on!), I decided to take Brian up on his offer for a free 1 hour class. Being that I am a complete beginner starting later in life, it was a bit intimidating to say the least. After that first class, I was hooked! I am not going to lie, it's not easy, but Brian makes it fun and non-stressful. With Brian's extensive skills, knowledge, experience, patience, and knack to teach, I have gained a greater appreciation for the guitar than I ever imagined. Brian's curriculum builds a solid foundation that everyone at their own level and pace can progress upon.
Brian is extremely organized and makes every minute count in my lessons. He videos the lessons and posts them privately, which helps be tremendously between lessons. Also, he is always available by text or email!
My family & friends are so amazed to hear how much I love learning to play, despite it being challenging. I am so happy that I found BRGA!
Thank you Brian for being such a great teacher!!!
I would highly recommend BRGA!


8/31/2017
Brian is the best instructor I have ever met. Thanks to Brian my skills have improved and I have learned more from him than the last 10 years of lessons from others. He is absolutely amazing and worth every penny.


7/15/2017
I originally reached out to Brian Roberts Guitar Academy looking for guitar lessons. There were a few options available to me at the time, but I decided to give BRGA a chance because it seemed like the best fit for me and I'm glad I did. It's been two almost three years now. I don't regret my time with him because compared from two years ago, I know so much more about guitars in general, than if I didn't attend.

For the amount of students he has and the amount of work he puts in for each student, the price is just right. You're paying for quality instruction. I mean you even get your own personalized video for every session you go to! If that's not quality, then I don't know what is.

I live up in the North Shore side of the island and I have to commute to Honolulu for guitar lessons. Due to traffic and other circumstances, there have been many a time where I was just a few minutes late. Brian is such a good person that he actually stayed with me after our allotted time slot. You know, he didn't have to, but he did and that's why I appreciate him and our time together. A lot of people are in it for the money, but he's in it to make you a better player and makes sure you understand the material.

I had been playing guitar for about a year and a half before coming to him, so I had the basic understanding of notation and theory. Even when self studying and researching online on my own, I often found the things Brian was teaching were also things encouraged by others to learn first which solidified my confidence in him as an instructor.

The main thing though is that he is going to teach you about guitar and music theory. So if you're just trying to only learn songs or from tabs, then you might want to look elsewhere. However, if you just speak with him, I am sure he will work with you. Theory is a bit complex at first but if you give it time, you will slowly start to get it. He's got great analogies to help you understand the material better. Some of the things you will learn include: chords/bar chords, chord progressions, the nashville number system, and many other things.

So all in all, if you, your child or your friend are looking for guitar lessons, then I recommend going to him. He's friendly and professional and clearly knows what he's teaching about. Personally, in my opinion, he's one of the best on the island.


3/20/2017
I had been dreaming and procrastinating on taking lessons for years. On my 29th birthday my fiance decided to sign me up with Brian Roberts Guitar Academy to see if it was in my cards or not to one day play. Lucky to say it has been a blessing working with Brian. I have been attending bi-weekly lessons from July 2016 to now (8 months). I had no experience and am a lefty living in a right handed world. Brian quickly gave me some pro-tips, for one I'm learning to play right handed, which I believed to be a bigger challenge than it actually is. He broke down the essentials, built a solid foundation for me as his lessons I believe are customized to the student so this was perfect. So far we have learned all the basic Open Chords which I can now play with ease, the Pentatonic Scales, Ear Training, Bar Chords and Diatonic Scales is now the agenda. Aside from the curriculum he follows he is always open to moving in a direction I find interesting or he assists in addressing challenges that I need to overcome such as strumming since that is my non-dominant hand.
In summary, I'd recommend him to anyone. It's been such an adventure so far and I'm having a great time learning and look forward to every lesson. Thanks​ Brian for what you do, you're a great teacher. Mahalo


2017年2月18日
Brian is a great guitar instructor who helped me immensely. I have been playing for many years including playing 2nd guitar in a local, gigging cover band. I went to Brian to improve my ability to play lead fluently and with more intentional note choice over the changes. In less than a lesson, Brian identified the gaps in my knowledge and set up a lesson plan to address them. Each lesson with Brian gave me weeks of concepts to explore and improve upon. Thanks very much for sharing your knowledge, Brian.

絶対に後悔しないブライアン先生のギターレッスン!ビギナーでも、中級でも、アドバンスでも、あなたのギタースキルに磨きをかけたいなら、ブライアンは最高の先生です。


2/9/2017
Brian is a passionate teacher. He gives guitar lessons from his home, provides parking for his students, and films the entirety of his lessons. Recently, he hosted an optional recital for his practice at Osoyami Bar & Grill, which was a fun event to witness. If you want to learn to play to guitar, or further your understanding or ability with the instrument, give the guitar academy a call!


8/5/2016
Amazing teacher. Brian teaches you about music in a way that feels natural and not intimidating. Absolutely recommended for anyone at any age.


2016年6月13日
My 17 year old son has been taking private guitar lessons from Brian for over a year now. Under Brian's tutelage, he has progressed from a complete non-player to an enthusiastic budding musician who can play entire songs, including Tears in Heaven by Eric Clapton, Dust in the Wind by Kansas, and the theme from Howl's Moving Castle.

Brian is extremely down to earth, easy to talk to, and patient, making his classes fun and non-stressful. One thing we love is that he videotapes the sessions and sends them to the students to review whenever they want. This makes home practice much more productive and helps the students improve at a quicker pace. Classes are affordably priced and offered at convenient times. My son takes his lessons on quiet Sunday afternoons which works perfectly with his hectic school and sports schedule.

これからギターをやってみたい方、全員に一押しの先生です!ブライアン先生のレッスンをもっと早く始めていたかった、それだけが後悔です。素晴らしい指導力とカリスマのあるブライアン先生、その才能を私たちにシェアしてくれていることに感謝です。


5/30/2016
I have no music background and always wanted to learn how to play the guitar. Brian offers private lessons at his home and all lessons are recorded so you can reference back later. I have to say it was difficult in the beginning but after a few months I'm enjoying both my electric and acoustic guitar, thanks Brian!


5/28/2016
My 16 year old daughter has been taking guitar lessons for the past few months and has made great progress. He is an excellent instructor! Thanks Brian!!!


9/23/2015
I have been taking lessons for 4 months now from Brian and I have learned to play a few chords, scales and some songs. Brian also teaches music theory so, not only you learn how to play, but why. He's a excellent guitarist himself and a great teacher, very patient and professional and breaks things down so it's fun, easy to understand and keeps you engaged throughout the entire lesson. If you'd like to learn how to play the guitar. I would highly recommend giving Brian a call. He's a gifted teacher.


2015年6月12日
全てにおいて素晴らしい先生です!ブライアンは豊富な音楽知識があり、とても優しく穏やかな先生で、生徒に合わせた独自のユニークな個人レッスンプランに沿って教えてくれます。

I came to Brian with some experience, and very little understanding of the guitar, and he has taught me a lot! I wanted to be able to create, not simply regurgitate songs other people write, and I am well on my way to Jamming and Writing music confidently!

It's nice to see the guitar school growing too. Recently Brian added a webcam for recording lessons, making it that much easier for his students to access and review their previous lessons!

No matter your skill level Brian will surely be a great addition to your journey as a guitarist. I highly recommend taking a lesson with Brian!


3/4/2015
I have been playing guitar for many years without really knowing what I was doing, I would strum a song based on chords online but that was the extent. After trying to do a bar chord unsuccessfully for a long time, and being very frustrated I was starting to distance myself from the guitar. For Christmas my wife realized my guitar frustrations and setup lessons at Brian Roberts's guitar academy. My last and only lesson for music was back in 5th grade when I was playing the recorder, nearly 25 years ago. That being said, I was a bit hesitant to go to a formal guitar lesson. Long story short, now I have been to 6 lessons and have absolutely loved every lesson. I am amazed at the level of understanding of Brian Roberts and the ability to convey the information to a musical novice. The environment is comfortable, with parking available. Also, Brian records each lesson and posts it privately online, this was a huge help, because there is so much information to remember. After the lesson you can go home and review / practice with the YouTube video (a huge plus). Now I feel like the guitar is a whole new instrument and I have a much greater understanding of it. And yes, I can now play a handful of various bar chords that I never could before. The lessons are very affordable also, absolutely worth it. I would highly recommend Brian Roberts guitar academy.


11/7/2014
I've been playing the guitar off and on for about ten years and was looking for someone to really push me to a different level. I've tried a few other teachers and I felt fairly disengaged and didn't end up sticking with it. I was so happy to find Brian -- he's easy to get along with, professional, flexible with your schedule, and really listens to your personal aspirations.

Brian records his sessions, is responsive to the needs of his students, and teaches through actual practice of songs that interest the student. I am at a totally different level than when I began my practice with Brian and enjoy playing the guitar much much more. Highly recommend.


10/27/2014
Brian is very professional and has a nice set up with video recording and a fan (excellent!). He asked a lot of questions to determine my level of skill and then come up with appropriate exercises. I enjoyed my first lesson and will be back for more!
Bonus: VIP PARKING available for every student :D


2014年9月19日
エキサイティングなクラス、リラックスできるレッスンルーム、とても良心的なレッスン価格。ブライアン先生の独自に開発したユニークなクラス内容、音楽とギターへの情熱を毎週のレッスンで楽しんでいます。

Small room with top of the line equipment. Convenient parking.


9/15/2014
After years of putting it off, decided to take guitar lessons. I am a beginner and Brian has no problem teaching anyone at different levels. He is a great instructor; patient and yet will motivate you to want to learn and progress. He tailors lessons to what you want to learn and your music interests. After 3 lessons I was already playing a song. He records all lessons so you watch them later as a reminder. Would definitely recommend him to anyone wanting to learn or improve.


9/15/2014
Very knowledgeable. Very patient and professional. Low key. Records all sessions so you are able to review the lesson. This is very helpful. Very accessible, parking is super convenient.


9/15/2014
Expect great things from guitar academy! Brian is a versatile guitarist with tons of experience under his belt. His lessons tailor to the needs of the student and he is more then happy to attend to a specific area in order to see a paramount experience. Parking is available and the time schedule is flexible.


9/14/2014
Brian is an outstanding guitar instructor. I'm 41 years old and have been playing for years and he tailors the lessons to my ability and not into a set by the book (canned) lesson plan. He also pushes me to go further than my abilities and then works me up to it, and the lessons are just plain fun. Highly recommend.

Venmo Yelp Patreon FaceBook Instagram YouTube